Senate Panoramic

Today's Events: 09/02/2015

2015-16 Legislative Session

The Next Senate Floor Session will convene Wednesday, September 2, 2015, at 10 a.m.

Regular Session: Floor Session, 10 a.m.
1st Extraordinary Session:
2nd Extraordinary Session:
RULES: Upon call of the Chair

Message from the Senate President pro Tem

Photo of Senate President pro Tem Kevin de LeónThank you for visiting the California Senate’s website. An engaged citizenry is the bedrock of a thriving democracy. To facilitate that participation, we hope you’ll visit our new live-streaming option where for the first time you can view all regularly scheduled hearings within the Capitol from your own computer, tablet or smart phone. We recognize not everyone can get to Sacramento to participate in the legislative process, so we'll bring those hearings to you.

Kevin de León
Senate President pro Tempore

Photos of the Week

  • The Senate Women's Caucus congratulates the all-women group of Science Fellows for their accomplishment and service to the Senate. From left: Senators Nguyen, Leyva, Wolk, Liu, Mitchell, Angela Doerr, Debra Cooper, Laurie Harris, Christine Hochmuth, Shannon Muir, Senators Jackson, Galgiani, Pavley, Runner and Bates.

  • Representatives of the National Ski Patrol are honored for their heroic work and service to skiers and outdoor recreationists

  • The state Senate recognized the contributions of Victor Espinoza as the first Latino jockey to win the Triple Crown.  

  • Senate President pro Tem Kevin de León presents a resolution to a group of Guatemalan American leaders in recognition of their contributions to California

  • Senator Bob Wieckowski

  • Senators Holly Mitchell (far left), Richard Pan (center) and Isadore Hall (far right) honor a group from the African American Women's Health Legacy Project during the August 17, 2015 Senate floor session.

  • Senator Jim Nielsen congratulates the Antelope High School Marching Band.  The Titan Marching Band represented California at America's National Independence Parade in Washington, DC on the Fourth of July, 2015.

  • The California Senate Staff Alumni Association honored their 2015 scholarship recipients during the Senate floor session.  This year's recipients are: Kathryn Link-Oberstar, Ethan Enos, Anna Preston and Madison Gonzalez.

  • Senate President pro Tempore Kevin de León introduces Hip Hop Caucus President and CEO, Lennox Yearwood, Jr., and Bay Area Coordinator Mandolyn Wind Ludlum (Mystic)

Find Information

Oversight Hearings

Senate Calendar